Skip to main content

Award-winning faculty

The MENA Languages program has an exceptional teaching faculty who regularly receives awards and accolades for teaching. Every faculty member makes a concerted effort to offer classes that are engaging, motivating, and intellectually fulfilling, that broaden and deepen learning environments and bring current facets of the new language and culture to each class. This dedication to teaching is not only reflected in the success of our students who continue to win prestigious awards, but also in the many teaching awards our faculty earned. Here is a list of the various teaching awards won by our current faculty:

Name Award
Fadia Antabli INTERNAL:
  • WCAS Distinguished Teaching Award (2015-16)
  • ASG Faculty Honor Roll (2016-17)
Fatima Khan INTERNAL:
  • WCAS Distinguished Teaching Award (2019)
  • Pi Beta Phi Professor of the Year Award (2009)
  • ASG Faculty Honor Roll (2010-11, 2011-12, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2019-20)
Franziska Lys INTERNAL:
  • Alumnae of Northwestern Teaching Professor (2006-2009)
  • Charles Deering McCormick Distinguished Lecturer (1997-98)
  • WCAS Distinguished Teaching Award (1987-88)
  • ASG Faculty Honor Roll (1984-85, 1985-86, 1986-87, 2017-18, 2018-19)
  • Searle Center for Advancing Learning and Teaching Influencer (2019-20)
  • ACTFL/FDP­‐Houghton Mifflin Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLat the University Level. (1999)
  • AATG/Goethe-­‐Institute Award Certificate of Merit. (1989)
  • Lieutenant Governor’s Award of the Illinois Council of Teachers of Foreign Languages (ICTFL) for outstanding achievement in the field of foreign language teaching and research. (1996)
Ragy Mikhaeel INTERNAL:
  • CLI Excellence in Language Teaching Award (2014-15)
Rana Raddawi INTERNAL:
  • ASG Faculty Honor Roll (2019-20)
Hanna Tzuker Seltzer EXTERNAL:
  • Excellence in Teaching Award, University of California, Berkeley (2012)
Oya  Topçuoğlu INTERNAL:
  • ASG Faculty Honor Roll (2018-19)
Back to top